TIE A YELLOW RIBBON: In Memory of Joselito Caparas (July 3, 1955- May 5, 2015)

“I’m comin’ home, I’ve done my time

Now I’ve got to know what is and isn’t mine

If you received my letter tellin’ you I’d soon be free

Then you’ll know just what to do if you still want me

If you still want me…”

I remember this song while growing up and have been a favorite, too. My father’s brother used to sing it over the years. He was known to be the life of the party among his friends and his family. During our younger years, we will always see him a little bit tipsy yet delightful, but a martinet at times to his children if it’s needed.

405997_131384086976567_1287929524_n

Now that he’s turning 60, none of us have ever thought that this is his retiring age. He retired from battling with his illness that he had to endure for years which has gotten worse. It was all of a sudden, midday of May 5th when the shocking news was brought. He passed out while getting water. My mom and sister had to rush out and carried him while other neighbors rescued to take him to the hospital. I imagined the scene just like in the movies, as I have learned what happened. The doctors and nurses have tried to revive him, it was a positive sign at first, but he didn’t make it. We lost our uncle.

11198603_773416432773326_956092439_n

It hurts to see him lifeless but I knew he tried his best to cover up the pain and show the people around him that he’s just fine. Maybe, he wants to make sure that everything is in order and settled before he leaves especially, for his own family.

As his curtain falls, we will always remember the good old days with him while teasing the rest of us. We will think about the times, when he was full of energy and enthusiasm to entertain and accommodate everyone.

Thank you, Tito Pogi….we’ll definitely miss you and may your loving soul rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

